The Leaning People of Pisa

Pisa

When i arrived at the Tuscan town of Pisa in Italy, I immediately looked for its

world famous landmark, the Tower of Pisa.  With a local guide map, i walked

from the train station to the tower.  From afar, i saw a glimpse of the tower already.

I excitedly pushed myself out of the crowd of tourists all heading to the same

direction.  When i reached the gate of the church, I was so amazed to see the tower for

real.  But then, as i entered the gate, my attention suddenly switched to the crowd of

tourists standing around with their hands in the air.  It was weird at first and made me

wonder what the heck was going on.  Then i saw countless of people too with cameras on

their knees taking photos of these people posing like they are leaning on the tower. Aha!

Now that made sense.  It was very interesting seeing these tourists doing stupid things,

posing like they are pushing, leaning, holding or carrying the tower like incredible Hulk.

I cant stop clicking my camera!….looking back i realized i took more photos of

people taking forced perspective photos than the remarkable architectural design

of the Leaning Tower of Pisa  :(.

Categories: Europe, Italy, Pisa | Tags: , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “The Leaning People of Pisa

  1. I think the tower is beautiful. The whole Piazza dei Miracoli is stunning. The town of Pisa is also worth a look, but most people just do the tower and then leave.

    • I agree…I didnt stay long at the tower and decided to wander away in the town of Pisa…i love getting lost in the narrow alleys and exploring the local market area….even the train ride in the tuscan area is a fascinating experience….thanks Debra for visiting my blog….

  2. My best memory of the Leaning Tower is looking for a good pizza place for the class of school children I was leading. Having lived in Italy for many years i really didn’t expect a good pizza with the milling crowds of tourists around. To my great surprise and joy I had one of the best pizzas ever just a few minutes away from Piazza dei Miracoli. Buon appetito!

    • You are lucky to find one…i was disappointed with the pizza place i went to in Pisa….i even ordered pasta but well i think it was one of those ‘tourist restaurants’ around…..i do miss gelatos in Italy…something i always had everyday throughout my stay there 🙂

  3. Hahahaha….lol…i am often amazed at watching the behavior of people as well

  4. I think more than seeing the actual site or taking a photo of a particular structure, what makes travelling really fun is people watching. 🙂

  5. So great! I want to go there!

Write your comment here

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

