Clogs: The Dutch Wooden Shoes

Dutch Slippers

The wooden shoes or clogs are an important part of Dutch heritage.  Today, it is one of the must buys for tourists.  Traditionally handmade by skilled artisans, you can find a pair in almost every souvenir shops in Amsterdam.  It is available in different designs and colors.  While you won’t find many locals walking around in them, you will see these clogs in every shops sold not as shoes but as souvenir items like figurines, refrigerator magnets, wall decor, ashtrays among others.   However, if you want a picture of someone wearing clogs, you need to travel to the countryside and search for farmers and rural workers. They are the only group of people that still wear clogs these days. Clogs, an epitome of the Dutch culture… a symbol of Netherlands….another souvenir worth keeping.

Categories: Amsterdam, Europe, Netherlands | Tags: | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Clogs: The Dutch Wooden Shoes

  1. Those are so cute!

  2. I just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Liebster award! Check out my blog for the details: diarygrade3.wordpress.com

    • wow, you just made my day, michaela….thanks so much….i will always remember you as the first blogger to nominate my blog….i will find time to follow the instruction in your blog…..thanks a lot again…….

  3. Awesome shot! Did you actually see anyone wearing any?

    • thanks….unfortunately i only saw a Filipina fitting the clogs at a souvenir shop 🙂 i should have taken a photo of myself! Actually! 🙂 thanks for dropping by my blog…

  4. I love the colours and the shoes! When I was a child my dad brought us once littel tiny clogs as a souvenir. Love it!

  5. This is so great! I’m planning to visit Amsterdam later in the year so I will definitely get some clogs as a souvenir! 😛

    • if you have the time go to the countryside to see farmers wearing clogs and the traditional dutch farm dress….also try to have a boat ride along the canals in Amsterdam and bike around the city….worth the experience…by the way, bring a map with you because everything is for sale at the information center including city map……

      • Oh thank you for all the tips! I shall try to do all of them!! 🙂 I shall, I shall!!

        By the way, have you ever visited Amsterdam when the tulips were blooming? I think the time frame is late March to late May?

      • Unfortunately i went there in September and the only tulips flowers i saw were also made of wood sold at souvenir shops 🙂 There is a famous floating flower market at the heart of the city just walking distance from the main train station…that is where i took the Daisy Flowers Click on the link….happy travels….

      • Thanks! I will!!

Write your comment here

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

