Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward

“Life is like a dark tunnel. You may not always see the light at the end of the tunnel, but if you keep moving, you will get to a better place.”  – unknown

tunnel 1

This week’s Photo Challenge has something to do with an image that says FORWARD either showing a physical move or evoking a major life change.  I have chosen these images of the Munt la Schera Tunnel, a single lane road tunnel connecting Switzerland with Lago di Livigno in Italy.  While speeding through the tunnel, I noticed the effects of lights creating illuminated light trails.  I immediately took several shots of the moving light trails, experimenting with different timings and seeing what effects it has. I quite like the outcome.

tunnel 2

I always associate tunnels with how I move forward with my life.  As I have always been a risk taker, I often find myself in dark tunnels not knowing where to go or what impending danger awaits me ahead. Yet, I still keep on moving.

Oftentimes, I continue to move on following the flicker of lights along the way, usually mistaking the light of an oncoming car as the light at the end of the tunnel.

tunnel 3

Sometimes though, I end up moving the other way, to the shortest route that will bring me out of the dark faster, missing a lot of adventures and mishaps.

tunnel 4

And there are times, I keep on going back to the same path again and again, and I end up frustrated for missing the light at the end of each turn.

tunnel 5

However, most of the time, I find my way out despite the many ups and downs I experienced along the way.

Whatever my decision is when I am inside a tunnel, I make sure that I am moving forward and not backward.  The tunnel certainly  keeps me moving until I finally come out of the dark.

tunnel 6

This is how I struggle with life.  Finding the light at the end of a tunnel can be challenging and (often!) frustrating. But at the same time, the journey can be inspiring  and fulfilling as it lead us to our goal.

tunnel 7

Life’s track is full of obstacles, detours and dead-ends.  Yet we can always overcome life’s hurdles if we keep on moving forward with the belief that we can…..

To know more about the Weekly Photo Challenge at WordPress, visit Daily Post.

Categories: Europe, Switzerland, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward

  1. Excellent take on the challenge. Love the third photo on this series, I think the composition is spot on.

  2. moondustwriter

    like the way you take us through the tunnel from different angles as you write

    • thanks…i intentionally try to choose the photo that best describes the words…im happy that you noticed it…you have a very keen observation….:)

  3. Great light trails. It conveys the feeling of motion very well 🙂

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward (5) and Travel Theme: Bridges (1) Istanbul | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Great post and photos, its a very different way of looking at the theme.

  6. The artist eye. Always seeing the photo opportunity and the beauty of the situation. These are great for this challenge. I like the way that you use the analogy for life and the tunnel.

  7. Great post & photos!! I hope you weren’t driving!!

    I’m like you with tunnels, we have some great ones here in London, must find photos and post them. Yours put mine to shame though, the way you capture the strobe effect of driving a car through a tunnell in a still photo is brilliant 🙂

  8. ajaytao2010

    Absolutely beautiful pictures

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward | Flickr Comments

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward | Kerry Dwyer

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward (6 Sightseeing) | What's (in) the picture?

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward (7 Roller Skates in Paris) | What's (in) the picture?

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward | paul dear photography

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward (8 Skateboard) | What's (in) the picture?

  15. anshulrautela

    blurred yet beautiful.. short yet meaningful post.. 🙂 keep up the good work!

  16. Wow! I think your photo “thinking” is really creative. Love the tunnel pics. I know someone who is looking for the light at the end of the tunnel right now. So happy to find your blog. Thanks for the “like” on Tea Time 2!! Have an artful day, Marian

    • thanks Marian, hope to see you soon…im about to post this week’s photo challenge featuring south pacific small island countries

Write your comment here

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

