On Getting Lost….

tourist in barcelona

Travel Quote of the Week:  “Put down that map and get wonderfully lost!”

 A photo i took of a tourist seemingly lost on top of Mount Montjuic in Barcelona….

 —-

My reflections:

I often find myself getting lost in big cities every time i travel. Why? Because i am not good with directions. Why? Because i do not use a map. Why? Because i do not know how to use one!

But why would i want to get lost in big cities? Because i enjoy wandering around…i like the adventures and mishaps that goes with it…

But why? Because, surprisingly, i always end up exploring the off the beaten path…discovering out of the ordinary and unusual places and get to mingle with interesting and uniquely different groups of people. I get to hear their stories…and they get to hear my stories too….

And that is why, traveling without a map is often more exciting…. because it is by getting lost that I am able to tell a story….not just one but loads of interesting, funny and embarrassing stories!

As an unknown writer wrote, ‘Life goes on and the roads always lead to unexpected destinations…..’

So what are you waiting for? Let’s wander around the world! 🙂

——–

Share your gasm experience of ‘getting lost’ with us…what is your story? 🙂

Categories: Barcelona, Europe, Spain, Weekly Travel Quotes | Tags: , | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “On Getting Lost….

  1. In the wild, alone, I’ll probably want to keep a map and compass with me, though, if you don’t mind 🙂

  2. My adventures while traveling through the city aren’t as entertaining as yours. I did enjoy looking around and walking around areas yet unexplored while I was a youth. My forma of transportation were a city bus and my feet. I would occasionally get off on a random stop and walk for blocks on end to see what the neighborhood was about. Sometimes it was pleasant with the big trees swaying around, and sometimes it was quite dangerous as people were offended by the stranger walking among them. I learned much from my walks. Cars that speed by tend to never notice your presence while people who walk will acknowledge your existence. You could get a frown and sometimes you would be charismatic enough to get a smile. Life was much simpler then.

    • thanks juan for sharing your story…i can 100% relate to what you wrote…you can still do it you know….sometimes when
      im lazy walking i just go to one corner or to a park and just observe people and my surroundings…i also love exploring saturday
      market or flee market or sit at a harbour and watch fishermen with their catch…..ah the joys of simple living indeed! 🙂

  3. ajaytao2010

    I Nominate you for the prestigious Hug Award – Hope Unites Globally
    Please accept & oblige.

    Important:

    Please read the instruction carefully in the link provided
    on the awards page and follow suit

    http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com/2013/03/09/the-hug-award-hope-unites-globally/

    • thank you…i feel honored to receive such prestigious nomination….

      • ajaytao2010

        thanks my dear

      • ajaytao2010

        you are a great photographer

        and you deserve this award more than me

      • now you are making me blush…thanks dear..i didnt know i can inspire and give hope to people through my blog…
        i mean compared to what you are doing….i will respond later to your nomination…keep strong…take care…

      • ajaytao2010

        thank you very much

  4. wandering around is fun. the concept of getting lost is a bit alien in this day and time.
    I mean if you have your address with you, and have some bucks in your purse you will be able to get back where you started 🙂
    no need to panic. Just enjoy the scenery.

    • i agree…along with the adventure of getting lost comes the responsibility of keeping yourself safe…be aware of your surroundings, be careful…stay safe…in other words, be street smart!…

  5. Pingback: The Hug Award – HOPE UNITES GLOBALLY | Ajaytao 2010

  6. I don’t have a specific story but I will say that I am a total MAPS woman, as opposed to a GPS 🙂 For me, a big part of the joy of travel is the exploration of new things. I’m pretty careful when on the bike because I don’t want to end up somewhere alone where I don’t want to be. Having said that … it hasn’t happened yet and I often end up seeing something I didn’t plan on seeing. Oh! I just saw your response to a previous comment – yes care but no fear!

    • i can relate to what you wrote…except that i prefer to ask for directions from people than relying on maps. i do carry one but im just helpless in finding my way using it. asking from passersby and locals makes it easier for me to find my way 🙂 thanks for sharing your experience….

  7. “Honey, are you sure this is downtown because it looks like we’re outside the city now? I think you should maybe ask someone?”
    “DAMMIT, WOMAN. I. AM. TRYING. TO. READ. THE. MAP.”

  8. Love the quote if you are in friendly territory, not so good if traveling in the middle east..:-))

Write your comment here

Blog at WordPress.com.

