On Travelling…..

travel quote

Travel Quote of the Week:  “I get to travel with me. I need somebody to bring me back to who I am. It’s hard to be alone.” – Leonardo DiCaprio.

A photo i took on Christmas Day at a countryside ranch in Surrey, UK.

I seldom travel with friends.  Why? I like the flexibility of having my own time exploring new places and doing things I like. I can change plans at the last minute without consideration of what others feel or think about what I want to do.   Also, when I travel alone, my journey turns into a self-discovery one where I get to know more about myself and learn to deal with challenges on my own. In short,  I only have myself to deal with…. NO drama, NO conflicts and NO complications!

However, travelling alone has its own disadvantages too.  It can get lonely and boring.  Some activities are more fun to do with close friends than doing it alone.  These include exploring the local nightlife, drinking in pubs, doing extreme adventure and outdoor activities and food tripping.  Moreover, you get to have loads of good pictures of yourself (you have your friends to take your photo!).

On the other hand, you can always meet and mingle with new friends if you prefer to travel alone.

So whether you travel alone or with friends, make sure to enjoy every moment of your holiday trip because at the end of the day, what matters most is how to make the most of your travels to create beautiful and unforgettable memories to bring back home.

How about you? What do you prefer — to travel alone or with friends?

Categories: London, United Kingdom, Weekly Travel Quotes | Tags: , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “On Travelling…..

  1. I love travelling but I’ve never got a chance to travel alone. I want to try, though.

  2. Depends on my mood… Sometimes I business travel, so free time is alone. And sometimes I get those “wish you were there to see this” moments…

    • i agree…especially if you see something extraordinary, that is when you wish your friends are with you at that moment, right? 🙂 Thanks for sharing….

  3. LB

    Can I choose both? 🙂 I travel every year by myself, which gives me the opportunity to explore on my own schedule, to change plans and to now worry about it. On the other hand, I have a great time with friends as well …. Thank goodness, I can do both!!

  4. I like your independent spirit. I feel the same exact way when I go for a mountain bike ride. I like to ride on MY schedule and stop for views and rest when I feel like it. The freedom is fantastic.If I ride with others, their egos kick in and the ride becomes a race and it takes all the fun out of it.
    That’s not to say I am not competative as I have mountain bike raced for years but when I just go for a ride I would rather go alone and at my own pace.

    • thanks for sharing rick…i agree when it comes to exploring new places and have nature trips, i prefer to be alone….happy travels!

  5. I traveled alone a lot before I met my boyfriend. Now, everything is more fun when he’s around. I tried going on a trip without him a few years ago and wished he were there the whole time. It wasn’t the same as traveling along before I met him

    • you are lucky to eventually meet your travel buddy…some couples dont click with how they want to spend their holiday that they end up just arguing the whole trip! glad you are enjoying your BF’s company…happy travels! 🙂

  6. I traveled last year with my daughter but in 2014 I am traveling on my own…

Write your comment here

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

