The Almost Perfect Cone Volcano in the World

A tragic day in Albay. The bodies of 5 mountain hikers who died during the Mayon Volcano ash explosion were recovered today.  Four of the casualties are foreigners (3 Germans and 1 Spanish, a resident of Germany) and a local guide.

Yesterday, May 7, 2013, the Mayon Volcano in Albay, Philippines belched out ashes declared to be as phreatic explosion. The steam-driven explosion spewed a towering cloud of ashes hundreds of meters above its summit.  About 30 hikers were approaching the summit when the disaster happened.

I am currently on my holiday break in the Philippines and was in Albay when the imminent volcano eruption happened.  On that same day, I woke up early and decided to have a walk. Around 6:30 am, I stopped at a rice field with a good view of the volcano.  It was a clear beautiful day.  There were no clouds covering the volcano, no signs of impending disaster.

I was surprised to hear from the news that the Mayon has exploded at 8 am, an hour after I came back from my morning walk.  I immediately went to Legazpi City to have a glimpse of the volcano.

 These are the photos I have taken around 10 am, two hours after the explosion:

Mayon

mayon 2

mayon3

At 11 am, the clouds cleared up as if nothing happened.

photo (19)

Mayon 6

Mayon Volcano is known as the almost perfect cone volcano in the world. It is one of the famous destinations in the Philippines.  During summer, Albay is full of tourists wanting to have a glimpse of Mayon or hike to the summit.

mayon 7

mayon 8

The volcano is an amazing sight especially when you are walking along the city of Legazpi.  The past few days, I have been watching the volcano and taking series of photos every time I get a clear view of it.

Here are some of my IPhonography photos of Mayon Volcano taken from my Iphone 5 :

mayon 7

mayon 9

mayon 10

mayon 11

mayon 12

mayon 12

mayon 17

mayon 14

mayon 15

mayon 15

mayon 17

mayon 19

mayon 20

As I leave the Philippines this weekend, I will always bring with me my fondest memories of Mayon Volcano, one of the most unique and fascinating creations of nature.

Mayon Volcano is located in the province of Albay, 15 kilometers northwest of Legazpi City.  It is one of the most active volcanoes in the Philippines.  It is known for its almost perfect cone with an elevation of 8,077 feet. To date it has about 48 historical recorded eruptions with the last one in December 2009 forcing thousands of residents to flee their homes.

Categories: Asia, Philippines | Tags: , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “The Almost Perfect Cone Volcano in the World

  1. What amazing photos, I can see why people would want to climb it.

  2. Sorry to hear that tragic incident. The photos are truly remarkable though. By the way, I think the year in the post might be 2013?

  3. What amazing shots! I love them all and am totally fascinated with volcanoes and have been all my life!

    I just wanted to also send a quick note of thanks for signing up to follow my blog! I hope that you enjoy my posts! – B

  4. Glorious photographs of a gorgeous place!

  5. beautiful shots Susan..well captured I must say …with so many different angles

  6. applesandcreamn

    hello, we are planning to go to bicol on september on a budget, and we would like to ask if you have recommendations for a van that we could hire and take us around the city and the prime places in bicol. and also if you know where we could avail an affordable lava tour package. thanks!

    • Hi. Sorry for my late response. Ive not been active in blogging the past few months. I am not sure about the van but you can always ask help from hotel/hostels. usually they arrange tour package and can recommend van for you. Do take note that September is rainy season and i just saw the news today that Mount Mayon is on alert level 2. This means touring around the volcano may not be allowed by the local government.

Write your comment here

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

