Morocco: Heritage and People

Moroccans remain as one of the friendliest and most hospitable people in the world.  While primarily it is dominated by Muslim Arabs and typically regarded as an Arab nation, Morocco is best described as a nation of both Arabs and its indigenous inhabitants, the Berbers.  The Berbers which means “those who are not Arab” have generally settled in the countryside and mountains.  However, in the past few decades, more Berbers moved into urban areas mixing peacefully among the Arab and small Jewish population.  Due to the many influxes of populations in Morocco, the country has experienced many cultural influences mostly from Europe, Middle East and Sub-Saharan Africa.

Classical Arabic is the country’s official language while Berber are generally used as a first language mostly in rural areas.  French, is Morocco’s unofficial third language widely used in education, commerce and government.  Spanish is being spoken by majority of Moroccans in the northern part while English is being taught in all public schools.

 

P1020191

© SusanDetera Photography

P1030018

P1020331

P1020366

P1020332

P1020333

P1020336

P1020338

P1020354

Categories: Africa, Morocco | Tags: | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Morocco: Heritage and People

  1. Beautiful images Susan! Marvelous portraits! Thank you for sharing your experiences and the beauty of the people from Morocco! Blessings, Robyn

    • Hi Robyn, Thank you for coming back to my blog…was afraid that I wont see any of my blogger friends on my blog again after my long absence 🙂 Im finally back to blogging…thanks for the encouragement to continue posting 🙂

  2. Nice post. Thanks for sharing.

  3. welcome back, you and your wonderful photos have been missed!

  4. Great to see that you’re still doing fine. Welcome back 🙂

  5. Hello Susan! An email came through the other day that your had posted and I was so glad! I saved the notice so I could come back and check out the post ,,, and now I see that there are two 🙂 Welcome back!!
    Were these pictures taken at the local market? Those plastic stools/chairs are certainly a contrast from the traditional dress, aren’t they? I love that last photo with the little girl in the red dress, and two different hair adornments 🙂

    • Thank you so much….I was not sure if I will still have my followers or if there will be visitors still on my blog since I have been away far too long. I am just so happy to know that most of you are still around and im just thrilled to read your message. And because of the overwhelming responses, I am thinking of making a link to another blog, this time focusing on my humanitarian experiences…I just need to find time and a proper internet connection 🙂 Thanks for coming back to my blog….

  6. Reblogged this on James' World 2.

  7. The people haven’t change since a saw them 2 o years ago.Great post.Jalal

  8. clockworkjowls

    Beautiful photos; thank you for sharing. Where in Morocco were they taken?

Write your comment here

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

