Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite

Its been awhile since I entered a post for the Weekly Photo Challenge and I must admit I had a hard time interpreting this week’s challenge.  I am not sure how I understand the word infinity or whether my understanding is enough to interpret it visually.  According to Collins English Dictionary, Infinity is the state or quality of being infinite, an endless time, space and quantity.

I only know the word as associated with everlasting love as symbolized by the infinity necklace resembling a figure of eight.  But it is too cliché if I am going to interpret this one.

As always, I want to be different and so  I googled how other famous writers use the word infinity.  I found a number of quotes and put them together into a poetry (sort of!).  I looked at my collection of photos and found the ones that actually tell a story…almost related to the quotes I compiled.

All photos were taken by me at Cape Town in South Africa…truly my most memorable and happiest trip!!!

Here goes….enjoy!!

____________________________________________________

INIFINITY

" I'm one of those people who think that infinity is big enough for us all--and eternity long enough."                                                                                    -  House Of Seven Gables by Hawthorne, Nathaniel

” I’m one of those people who think that infinity is big enough for us all–and eternity long enough.”
– House Of Seven Gables by Hawthorne, Nathaniel

And, like all fine arts, it must be based upon a broad, solid sincerity, which, like a law of Nature, rules an infinity of different phenomena. - The Mirror of the Sea by Conrad, Joseph

                         ” And, like all fine arts, it must be based upon a broad, solid sincerity, which, like a law of Nature,   rules an infinity of different phenomena.”

– The Mirror of the Sea by Conrad, Joseph

                     ” Through the glass of the little skylight you saw a square of blue infinity. “                                                                                                             – The Four Million by Henry, O.

” It gave you an awful sense of the infinity of space and of the endlessness of time. ” – Moon and Sixpence by Maugham, W. Somerset

 

” Then silence that passed into an infinity of suspense.” – The War Of The Worlds by Wells, H.G.

“The eternal silence of these infinite spaces frightens me. ” – Pascal Pensées

” Was it being borne in that profound darkness through the infinity of space?” – Round The Moon by Verne, Jules

——–

Click on the link for more information regarding the Weekly Photo Challenge

Categories: Africa, Cape Town, South Africa, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite | Through the Eye of Bastet

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinite | Processing the life

  3. Beautiful pictures 🙂

  4. I am a huge fan of quotes…and your pictures are stunning! As a photographer, you are the real thing. I am trying to learn to take pictures with my Sony Cybershot Point and Shoot, but when I see photos like yours, with such great color, composition, angles, and subject matter, I realize how far I have to go.

    • Thanks Rob…I started with point and shoot as well so don’t be discouraged….I only do photography when I am traveling and I am blessed to have seen amazing places which helps a lot in creating outstanding photos ….even for amateur photographers like myself 🙂 Thanks for dropping by….

Write your comment here

Blog at WordPress.com.

