Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of You

Orange, is a stimulating vibrant blend of red and yellow which is often associated with change like the autumn leaves showing a change in season.  It is often used as a transitional color such as the color of sunrise which meant another day or sunset representing the coming darkness or a change in time.   Depending on the contrast of shades and tints, the hues of orange may mean different things from domination to passion, aggression to soothing, deceit to friendly among others. 

Despite the fact that orange is often recognized as a happy, flamboyant color, I prefer the combination of orange and black.  The contrast between these two colors as shown in my photos below represents the hue of me.    Orange portray the kind of life I have….always moving about….embracing change even if its unsettling or daunting at times (as represented by the shades of black), I still continue to shine and rise up to the challenge of another day. 

As what the famous Swiss psychiatrist, Carl Jung, said, ” Even a happy life cannot be without a measure of darkness and the word happy would lose its meaning if it were not balanced by sadness.  It is far better to take things as they come along with patience and equanimity.”

All photos taken in Botswana.

All photos taken in Botswana.

All photos taken in Southern African countries: Walvis Bay, Namibia (Upper Left Photo); Maun, Botswana (Upper Right Photo); Zambezi River, Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe (Lower Left Photo); Sowa Pan, Botswana (Lower Right Photo)

All photos taken in Southern African countries: Walvis Bay, Namibia (Upper Left Photo); Maun, Botswana (Upper Right Photo); Zambezi River, Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe (Lower Left Photo); Sowa Pan, Botswana (Lower Right Photo)

Click the link for more details of the Weekly Photo Challenge.

Categories: Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Victoria Falls, Weekly Photo Challenge, Zimbabwe | Tags: , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of You

  1. I love orange and black together too. I want to start my own company one day, and those are the colours I plan to use for my branding 🙂

    • You can use these colors as your motivation to start your business 🙂 ….. continue to envision your dream and will come true 🙂

      • Thanks, I’m going to put something in these colours next to my desk to remind me and inspire me every day 🙂

  2. This is beyond gorgeous. Absolutely stunning imags.
    Love, Dina

  3. Pingback: ACOUSTICAL TONIC | hastywords

  4. Pingback: Shades of Color | Processing the life

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: My Humble Hue, Blue | Humbled Pie

  6. Rist

    woow! very beautiful, amazing! Love egg of orange

  7. Wonderful shots! The one taken at Walvis Bay, Namibia, is very fine.

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of You | Khana's Web

  9. I love your photos–the contrast is breathtaking! I too selected shades of orange for this weekly challenge–it just seems to capture the heart of living so well. Your visit to my blog led me back to you–and I am delighted. I am sure I will visit here again and again.

Write your comment here

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

