Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

This week’s photo challenge is in celebration with the Halloween.  The challenge is to feature an image that is eerie making the viewer wonders what lurks in the shadows.  As I have not encountered any ‘ghostly’ images nor have I been into a haunted house, I decided to showcase photos that I did during a photography workshop.  In one of our sessions on creative photography, we were asked to use different kinds of effects apart from what is integrated in the camera.  One such kind of effects was  the use of a projector. To create an artistic visual, we used different art works and project it on the wall then superimposing these layers of clip arts over a subject.

Our first subject was a fellow photographer kneeling down and taking a photo beside a tree surrounded with candles.  The tree and candles were images projected on the wall.  At first, we were asked to use a tripod but after taking some shots, I find that my composition is a bit flat — plain and somehow boring to look at.  So I integrated one of the photography tricks, called camera movement, where you move your camera while taking a shot.   It created a ghostly shadow adding more depth to the image showing something eerie story to tell.

DSCF8644

I did the same trick on our next subject.  It created a more eerie effect than the first one.

DSCF8651 DSCF8653

I was very happy with the outcome that when we tackled the next topic which is camera movement. It was easy for me now to create various tricks.  One evening, in one of our field exercise, I saw one of my classmates sitting down by the garden while his group mates were standing beside him planning how to execute their next assignment.  I took a photo of them using the camera movement trick.  And the outcome? — eerie images….. that if one will see it without being told of a camera trick, he/she might think that a ghostly shadow lurks behind the subjects. It can also show images of people being in a trance state.  Do you see what I mean? Do you have any other interpretation of these images?

DSCF8539

DSCF8651v

DSCF8537

Click the link for more of Weekly Photo Challenge.

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

  1. Very cinematic

  2. WOW! Just WOW!

  3. The camera, indeed, did the trick. The subjects all turned out creepy.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie | Razoraven Photography

  5. Thanks for checking out my blog. I love your eerie photos! Very cool. I have a couple like that, and went a different way with it this time, but I love how yours turned out. I’ll be following your blog. 🙂

  6. Amazing images! How did you do it?

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie (Da Vinci’s visits his own exhibition?) | What's (in) the picture?

  8. The first one is the erriest.. if there is suh a word.. hahaha 😀

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie | Processing the life

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie (3) | Through the Eye of Bastet

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie Tomb | Processing the life

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie | Through the Eye of Bastet

Write your comment here

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

