Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There Be Light!

When I am traveling, I seldom visits touristy areas that have entrance fee. I prefer spending my money on food and out of town trips. Also, I am an outdoor person. I enjoy nature trips more than visiting museums and historical monuments.

However, when I was in Barcelona, Spain, a famous tourist place caught my attention — the La Sagrada Familia Basilica of Antonio Gaudi. Usually a historical church with an entrance fee turns me off but this one is 100% worth going and I definitely recommend this as a must visit place in Barcelona.

The basilica has been under construction since 1882 and is expected to be completed by 2026.  Gaudi planned many parts of the church so that they could be built in the future. Since his death in 1926, different architects have continued the work after his original idea.

But what really attracted me to pay for 14.80 Euro fee is its interior design. I read that the insides of the church is more interesting to photograph than the facade. Indeed, there are not enough words to describe it.

Natural light pours in not just from the colorful stained glass windows which most churches uses but also from electric lights positioned at the top. There are also glass windows high above the vaulted ceilings of the gothic style that let in sunlight pouring splashes of light and colors below.

The La Sagrada Familia Basilica uses natural light in the most phenomenal way i’ve ever seen.

So for last week’s Photo Challenge, Let There Be Light, Ive chosen to feature my interior photos of La Sagrada Familia Basilica’s most impressive displays of indoor and natural lighting.

La Sagrada

La Sagrada

La Sagrada

La Sagrada

La Sagrada

La Sagrada

 

La Sagrada

——

For more information about the church including the entrance fees and ticket booking, click this – La Sagrada Official Site

 

 

Categories: Barcelona, Europe, Spain | Tags: , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There Be Light!

  1. I lived there for 4 years, yet never went inside to a complete and irrevocable lack of funding. One of the regrets of my time spent in Barcelona. Calimotxo is another.

    • Shame…but living for Spain for 4 years, I think is something already…not sure with you, but I do like the country….and the food especially 🙂

      • I had a great time. I love the culture and the life. Just wish I had a bit more money and could have done some more traveling, both in Spain and around Europe.

  2. I’ve heard so much about La Sagrada, but have never seen the light the way you presented it. Isn’t it amazing to think of a place being under construction for that long?

  3. Beautiful! I’m also the more outdoorsy type, but I don’t mind paying for some of sights and monuments. After all, the money goes into maintaining the places, history and so forth. Even in parks. 🙂

    • I agree but when you are traveling on a backpacker’s budget, for a longer duration covering different countries, you need to prioritize which ones are worthy for a visit….some tourist sites ask for an absolutely ridiculous fee and the maintenance is not very good….had a share of bad experiences on this one specially in Europe. But a structure like the La Sagrada, the visit is worth your money 🙂

      • Oh yeah, completely agree. There are some spots that are totally abusing. I remember visiting some rundown castles, with a parking that you’d pay something like 4€, “all day” and no other choice, and the visit with no guide couldn’t possibly last for more than 30 minutes… And at the same time, I’ve seen spots and parks where you’d only be asked to “pay what you want, leave it in a box at the entrance”, that would be perfectly well maintained and preserved, with clearly marked trails so that hikers don’t overstep the boundaries and venture in the depths of the woods…

      • yup had the same experience too….in morocco, I went to this castle which from the outside looked really cool but when you get inside, there was nothing at all to see, no guide, no brochure, no information even direction where to go and they charged too much….

Write your comment here

Blog at WordPress.com.

