Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning

IMG_0967

This is my interpretation of last week’s Photo Challenge: Beginning.  When I learned that I will be staying in a tent, camping in remote areas with minimal basic facility or none at all (including shower and toilet!) in South Sudan, I decided to cut my hair short.  I  love having long hair and Ive had it for years.  But because it needed a lot of maintenance care like regular shampoo or conditioning, having a long hair in a hardship condition will not be easy (at least for me as I have the tendency to be very vain when it comes to my long hair!)

This photo is a painful reminder of the sacrifice I made for a humanitarian mission.  It also signifies a beginning for yet another new chapter of my life and a beginning of a new journey…far different from the comfortable material world I live in!

Categories: Africa, South Sudan, Wandering the Road Less Traveled: My Humanitarian Missions, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning

  1. Beautiful sentiment Susan. I too love long hair and know the angst associated with cutting it short. I’m sure you still look beautiful, and hopefully you can keep the long locks for a keepsake! Blessings, Robyn

  2. matthewexeter

    That is quite something

  3. Such beautiful hair, you were very brave to cut it all off, but it will grow again!

  4. Good luck on your journey!

  5. Reblogged this on Oyia Brown.

  6. That was a true sacrifice, but at least you know that someone benefitted from your hair (actually more than one … those you helped on your humanitarian mission and the one who got your hair). Good for you!

  7. It’ll grow back. You did what you had to do, I think it’s a small inconvenience compared to what you could achieve there 🙂

  8. It’s not so much the haircut that got me (and, not to take anything away from that, Susan), but bravo for your humanitarian achievements and travels; good way to open up others’ eyes!

Write your comment here

Blog at WordPress.com.

